fbpx

Voodoo Floss: myth or reality?

Voodoo Floss: myth or reality?

Voodoo Floss is a recent technique that would allow range of motion work while improving joints biomechanics.

By Pierre-Luc Dubé

There are countless ways to work on our customers mobility other than with passive stretching only. Through the multitude of options available to us as a professional, it is important to choose those that, in the end, will have a real effect on our client. However, it is also important to separate things out in order to know if there is really an interest in using one in particular. Voodoo floss is a recent technique that would work on range of motion in addition to improving the biomechanics of the joints. This technique consists of wrapping a muscle or a joint with an elastic band stretched between 50% to 70% of its capacity for 1 to 4 minutes and performing passive and / or active flexibility or mobility movements.

According to certain beliefs and articles, the use of this technique could present advantages for range of motion, perception of pain and speed of recovery of injured or damaged tissues via myofascial relaxation and the resulting vascular occlusion. In addition, this method could also reduce the risk of injury and improve performance during power movements.

Conversely, other studies do not seem to see any change with or without the voodoo floss in relation to tissue irrigation and range of motion. There is not really an established protocol to ensure the standardization of the method and the mechanisms triggered by its use are not yet well understood. Nevertheless, the method could work on the same principles as vascular occlusion via the release of factors intervening with DNA, in order to trigger the production of proteins having specific physiological functions. The occlusion effect created by compression does not seem to have any consequences or risk of damage to the circulatory system. Using the method appears to be safe, and there have been no reported incidents related to its use.

The literature seems mitigated regarding the actual effects of this method. No study has reported the effects of voodoo floss for an extended period of time. It is important to form your own opinion before adhering to a theory. However, this method does not necessarily need to be banned. We must evaluate the real result of its use on our customers to verify its effectiveness. If something seems to work for an individual, why should we do without it? It is simply a matter of understanding the principles behind the methods in order to identify whether there is potential or not.

References

  1. Driller, M. W., & Overmayer, R. G. (2017). The effects of tissue flossing on ankle range of motion and jump performance. Physical Therapy in Sport, 25, 20-24. doi:10.1016/j.ptsp.2016.12.004
  2. Kiefer, B. N., Lemarr, K. E., Enriquez, C. C., & Tivener, K. A. (2017). A Pilot Study: Psychological Effects of the Voodoo Floss Band on Glenohumeral Flexibility. International Journal of Athletic Therapy and Training, 1-16. doi:10.1123/ijatt.2016-0093
  3. Borda, J., & Selhorst, M. (2017). The use of compression tack and flossing along with lacrosse ball massage to treat chronic Achilles tendinopathy in an adolescent athlete: a case report. Journal of Manual & Manipulative Therapy, 25(1), 57-61. doi:10.1080/10669817.2016.1159403
  4. Bohlen, J., Arsenault, M., Deane, B., Miller, P., Guadagno, M., & Dobrosielski, D. A. (2014). Effects of applying floss bands on regional blood flow. International Journal of Exercise Science, Conference Proceedings, 9(2).

Subscribe to our newsletter

Content according to your interests will be offered!

© 2021 Bia Formations Inc. All rights reserved.

fbpx

Voodoo Floss : mythe ou réalité?

Voodoo Floss : mythe ou réalité?

Le voodoo floss est une technique récente qui permettrait de travailler l’amplitude de mouvements en plus d’améliorer la biomécanique des articulations.

Par Pierre-Luc Dubé

 

Il existe de plus en plus de façons de travailler la mobilité de nos clients autrement qu’avec les étirements passifs. Au travers de la multitude d’options qui s’offre à nous en tant que professionnel, il est important de choisir celles qui, au bout du compte, auront un effet réel sur notre client. Cependant, il importe aussi de faire la part des choses afin de savoir s’il existe réellement un intérêt à en utiliser une en particulier. Le voodoo floss est une technique récente qui permettrait de travailler l’amplitude de mouvements en plus d’améliorer la biomécanique des articulations. Cette technique consisterait à envelopper un muscle ou une articulation avec une bande élastique étirée entre 50% à-70% de sa capacité pendant 1 à 4 minutes et à effectuer des mouvements de flexibilité ou de mobilité passifs et/ou actifs.

Selon certaines croyances et articles, l’utilisation de ce procédé pourrait avoir des avantages par rapport à l’amplitude de mouvements (articulaires et/ou musculaires), à la perception de la douleur et à la vitesse de récupération des tissus blessés ou endommagés via le relâchement myofasciale et l’occlusion vasculaire engendrée. En plus, cette méthode pourrait aussi réduire les risques de blessures et améliorer la performance lors de mouvements en puissance.

À l’inverse, d’autres études ne semblent voir aucun changement avec ou sans le voodoo floss par rapport à l’irrigation des tissus et à l’amplitude de mouvements. Il n’existe pas vraiment de protocole établi afin de s’assurer de la standardisation de la méthode et les mécanismes enclenchés derrière son utilisation ne sont pas encore bien saisis. Néanmoins, la méthode pourrait fonctionner sous les mêmes principes que l’occlusion vasculaire via la libération de facteurs intervenant avec l’ADN, afin d’enclencher la production de protéines ayant des fonctions physiologiques spécifiques. L’effet d’occlusion créé par la compression ne semble pas avoir de conséquence ou de risque d’atteinte pour le système circulatoire. L’utilisation de la méthode semble être sécuritaire et aucune étude n’a répertorié d’incidents en lien avec son utilisation.

La littérature semble mitigée par rapport aux effets réels de l’utilisation de la méthode. Il n’existe présentement aucune étude qui ait reporté les effets du voodoo floss sur une période prolongée. Il est important de se faire sa propre opinion avant d’adhérer à une théorie. Néanmoins, cette méthode n’est pas nécessairement à bannir pour autant. Il faut évaluer le résultat réel de son utilisation sur nos clients afin de vérifier son efficacité. Si quelque chose semble fonctionner pour un individu, pourquoi faudrait-il s’en passer? Il s’agit simplement de comprendre les principes derrière les méthodes afin de repérer s’il existe un potentiel ou non.

Références

  1. Driller, M. W., & Overmayer, R. G. (2017). The effects of tissue flossing on ankle range of motion and jump performance. Physical Therapy in Sport, 25, 20-24. doi:10.1016/j.ptsp.2016.12.004
  2. Kiefer, B. N., Lemarr, K. E., Enriquez, C. C., & Tivener, K. A. (2017). A Pilot Study: Psychological Effects of the Voodoo Floss Band on Glenohumeral Flexibility. International Journal of Athletic Therapy and Training, 1-16. doi:10.1123/ijatt.2016-0093
  3. Borda, J., & Selhorst, M. (2017). The use of compression tack and flossing along with lacrosse ball massage to treat chronic Achilles tendinopathy in an adolescent athlete: a case report. Journal of Manual & Manipulative Therapy, 25(1), 57-61. doi:10.1080/10669817.2016.1159403
  4. Bohlen, J., Arsenault, M., Deane, B., Miller, P., Guadagno, M., & Dobrosielski, D. A. (2014). Effects of applying floss bands on regional blood flow. International Journal of Exercise Science, Conference Proceedings, 9(2).

Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre

Du contenu en fonction de vos intérêts vous sera proposé!

© 2020 Bia Formations Inc. Tous droits réservés.

Ne partez pas trop vite!

Inscrivez-vous ici pour recevoir du contenu informatif en lien avec vos intérêts.